Brant Point Light on Nantucket Island, MA

YES!

After almost two years of having my wings clipped, I’m free to travel again! It was touch and go there for a while, but I’m feeling much revived after being squished on a plane and breathing recirculated air full of germs followed by five days in New England.

I graduated from culinary school, people, and that means I’ve regained my life. Technically, the graduation ceremony is at the end of the month, but I’ve completed 21 months of hard work learning the ins and outs of patisserie and baking and get to live like a normal person again. Go me!

But the bigger news is that graduating means I have the freedom to travel again, and not a moment too soon! I have seriously missed being out and about. And I have trips planned, places I want to go, things to see, all that great stuff.

The impetus for my trip to New England was the marriage of one of my dearest college friends. Daniel lives in the greater Boston area and he married a local girl a week and a half ago. He proposed last December and after I yelled at him (I found out he was engaged via FB after trying to call to wish him a happy birthday only to find his voice mail maxed out), he promised to let me know the wedding date the moment it was confirmed. I immediately set about making plans once the date was advised. Since I knew exactly one person–the groom–at the wedding, I decided to do some exploring all by me onesy. On my list were Adams Historical National Park, finishing the Freedom Trail, Nantucket Island, and Acadia National Park.

I was supposed to attend the rehearsal dinner, but ended up laying down for a nap at 4:00 p.m. and sleeping 17 hours. Oops. (I kept telling people I was exhausted. They believed me after that.) I texted Daniel when I got up the next morning and he invited me to breakfast. On his wedding day. Yes, I had breakfast with the groom on the morning of his wedding. He asked me what I was doing the following day and was impressed when I told him I was taking a ferry to Nantucket Island. Because I’ve never been. Turns out, he hasn’t either. He invited me to his mom’s house for steak and lobster with the family, but I declined. However, his mom and I spoke at the reception and when she figured out who I was, she insisted. <sigh> I could argue with the groom, but I was no match for the groom’s mother.

The change in plans required me to rebook my ferry and a touch of lunacy… I awoke at 6:00 a.m. and set out for Hyannis, Massachusetts, about a two-hour drive from my hotel. I then took the one-hour ferry to Nantucket. I had 1.5 hours to walk 0.9 miles to a lighthouse, shoot photos, and walk 0.9 miles back to the dock to catch the two-hour ferry back to Hyannis so I could drive the 2.5 hours to Jeannie’s house. I was caught in traffic and arrived 1.5 hours late, but they were running later than me–yeah!–and the food wasn’t ready yet, so I was fine. I spent the entire evening at their home, the only non-family attendee.

Brant Point LightThe only hiccough in my plan to get my desired photographs is that my heart was pumping so hard my hands were shaking and I was dripping sweat by the time I reached my photo destination on Nantucket. Oh well, I guess I’ll have to go back… yeah!

My quarry was Brant Point Light.

I came, I walked fast, I saw, I photographed, I conquered!

The lighthouse is feet from the water in a picturesque location off the harbor. Unfortunately, a group of tourists had biked in and kept walking into my photos. Fail. I stayed out of their photos, I do not understand why they were incapable of staying out of mine. I was duly annoyed.

While I had my trusty 5D with me, I actually shot this photo with my iPhone. The bummer is that I shot this as an afterthought, so I could quickly upload it to FB, and it wasn’t centered. (I wasn’t actually looking at my phone’s screen when I shot it, to be completely honest–shhh! Don’t tell!) But the wispy clouds had shifted slightly from the time I shot the photos with my Canon and when I took this one… I ended up with more blue sky as a result. Thank goodness the newer phones have pretty good resolution!

I am hoping to get back to Nantucket within the next few years so I can get a longer visit on the island, eat at Met on Main, and see everything there is to see. I’d also like to take in Martha’s Vineyard and Cape Cod. I think I may need two to three days just for this area of Massachusetts. Okay! Never think I shy away from adventure!

The world’s a great big place and I’m back to my shenanigans… next? Hawaii or New York City… totally serious. It’ll be one or the other. I’ve never been to either… I know, it’s tragic.

Leave a Reply

