National Cathedral, Washington, D.C.

National CathedralAs well you know by now, Washington, D.C. is my favorite place to visit. There’s so much to see and do! And every time I go, there’s still something else I haven’t seen yet…

My second trip to my nation’s capitol was in March 2008. It was me, Julie (my sister), Ethan (my brother), Adrianna (my sister-in-law), and Katie (our friend). On our first day out and about, we purchased tickets for the red bus touring thingamabob. It’s a hop-on-hop-off thing that takes you from place to place and you can take as much or as little time at a given location and just catch the next bus that comes by.

One stop we were particularly jazzed about was the National Cathedral. We’d never been there. (Toldya, there’s always more to see.) Its design is gothic and it’s mammoth in size! I stood in front of it and kept backing away in an effort to get a complete shot from the front. Nothing doing. I was into the trees by the time the entire structure was visible through my lens.

Plan B.

I walked forward–out of the trees–and decided to try something different. I locked my arms against my body and shot the structure in chunks from top to bottom. Four images in all. When I arrived home, I put all four photos through an algorithm in Adobe PhotoShop that combined them into a singular image–aside from cleaning lint off of my photos (one of my lenses has a piece of lint inside… yes, yes, I know lenses can be cleaned), this algorithm is my only major digital cheat. The point of reference is interesting. With the slant, it makes me seem much shorter. The photo feels like a squirrel’s view of the National Cathedral. Huge, daunting, gargantuan. I was pleased with the outcome, though.

When I put the coffee table book of our trip together, I placed this image adjacent to nine vertical photos of various architectural features of the cathedral. I would’ve enjoyed a little more time to shoot the exterior of the cathedral, searching out more interesting angles and such. But when traveling by committee, you must pick and choose your battles. This was not a hill to die on. Others were… besides, I can always use a good excuse to go back!

Leave a Reply

