Photographing Fireworks on July 4th

I’m merely an amateur photographer, so I don’t mind snagging tips and tricks from those who do it better… and since I love fireworks as much as the next kid (I keep promising never to entirely grow up!), I have two Fourth of July related goals. And both will involve photography. First, to see the Boston Pops Orchestra perform on the Fourth of July on the Charles River in Boston. Second, to celebrate Independence Day on the National Mall in Washington, D.C. Both will involve way too much humidity and heat for my preference, but you do what you gotta do! And my camera and I will be there. Someday.

Framework

Since most fireworks photos are now taken with a smartphone, I decided to add some tips specifically for that style of camera. The cellphone camera is just so convenient to use. Who wants to carry around a heavy tripod and DSLR and stake out a location for hours on the Fourth of July?

4thpics5This year, I’m going to take a nice bike ride to watch the fireworks at the pier and take a few snapshots with my iPhone. While I’m probably not going to get great shots, they should be a nice representation of the evening’s events.

Smartphone cameras have improved, but since they’re shooting basically on automatic, the camera can be fooled by the bright contrast and dark skies.

Here are a few of my cellphone camera photo tips:

1. Turn off the flash. Those fireworks are a long way off.

2. Keep your camera steady while taking your photographs…

View original post 1,236 more words

Leave a Reply

