A Disappearing Act… Long Beach, California

The NieceAlright… shameless self-promotion and bragging is about to take place. If you’re appalled, cover your eyes.

I have the most adorable niece and nephew in creation. Don’t argue. I won’t believe you!

I became an auntie for the second time on January 2. I’ve been MIA for a while because I flew home to California to meet the wee lassie. As you can see, she and I get along famously.

And yes, that’s me.

No, I didn’t take the picture of me. This photo is courtesy of my sister-in-law, who is pretty good with a camera herself. She didn’t grow up using an SLR, but she’s adapted beautifully. My brother gave her a Canon Rebel T3i for Mother’s Day, a few months after my nephew was born. My nephew would be this little girl’s big brother.

The NieceI spent a lot of time cuddling this little girl… and I particularly like this photo–courtesy of Dad. Blame he and my mom for my love of photography. They had a Canon A-1 when I was growing up and they taught me and my three sibs to use it at a young age. That thing still weighs a ton today. And it was almost indestructible. I dropped it more than once, I should know!

Anyway, I was tucked into the corner of the sectional couch because I could prop my knees up and take some pressure off of my back and he snapped the picture from the side. I’m a little amused that both photos caught my left profile.

I also love that I’m in pink and white plaid (pink isn’t a regular offender in my wardrobe–that would be blue!) and the little rosebud is in white with pink polka dots. She really just eats, sleeps, and poops, but she’s a little charmer!

I’m a huge fan of the blobby stage… so much cuddling to be had! I’ll be back out to visit again next month for almost a full week and I plan to get as much cuddling in with the wee one as I possibly can. She won’t stay this size forever! Darn it.

The NephewAnd lest you think I’m a slacker as a favorite auntie… meet the little girl’s big brother. And we get along famously. This is last month when I flew out to visit. Yes, I go home to visit as often as I possibly can! Home is SoCal… where I live is Colorado. Not the same!

Anyway, we went to see Santa and in this shot, we’re watching the LGB train as it circles a huge tree… the small fry loves trains! Not as much as the trash man, but still…

I’m also amused that I have yet another left profile on this shot–for the record, there’s nothing wrong with the right side of my face and/or head! And this is again courtesy of my sister-in-law.

This little dude and I have a grand time. He’s been my dinner date… just the two of us at a restaurant. He’s 22 months old in this photo and is a surprisingly good conversationalist. Totally serious. He is! And he went with me to breakfast with some friends and charmed them out of their socks. And I, apparently, am the butt of his first joke. He calls me Auntie Jewie (my sister) with a twinkle in his eye, then grins and says Auntie Bef (me). Then he breaks into gales of laughter. So stinkin’ cute!

Alright… so they aren’t incredible vistas–or even photos I’ve shot myself–but they do explain why I haven’t pulled anything from my photography archives and popped it in here with some explanation of what on earth I was shooting.

I promise to return to the regularly scheduled program asap!

Leave a Reply

