Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado

Grand Lake, Rocky Mountain National ParkIf you have to pick a place to roost for the rest of your life, you could do worse than Colorado. There is a disproportionate amount of beautiful in these parts.

When my cousin, his wife, their kids, and my aunt and uncle came up from Texas, we all piled into three cars and headed into Rocky Mountain National Park for the day. By “all” I’m referring to my parental units, the brother, the sister-in-law, the aunt who lives here in the Springs, the cousin, his wife, his two kids, the aunt and uncle from the great big state of Texas, and myself. If you think that’s a crowd, we were missing my cousin’s sister and her husband and four girls, my sister, my other brother, my other sister-in-law, and my nephew. We’re a crowd, to be sure. Anyway, I rode with the brother and had the run of the backseat which meant I could slide from one side of the car to the other for picture taking purposes. And since he loves photography as well, he’s more than happy to slow down so I can get a crisp shot.

Grand Lake, Rocky Mountain National ParkGrand Lake is most of the way around the loop and looked gorgeous. The blue hues were very strong, thanks to the cloudy skies. A lot of folks think cloudy skies detract from a picture. Not so! Also, your eyes aren’t deceiving you. These photographs were taken in July and that is snow you see on those mountains. It very often doesn’t melt off until late July or August and can be replenished anytime thereafter.

Let’s face it, to take a great photograph on this shore would require some timing. There was just enough wind to ripple the water across the lake so I couldn’t get a clear reflection, but I’ll survive. It made for beautiful photos regardless.

Leave a Reply

