Bernkastel-Kues, Germany

Moselle River Panoramic

Photographs are the most perfect souvenir from my travels. They capture a place. I can envision these places in my mind’s eye, but the full color image, at 5′ x 10″, brings the reality of the place into my home. (If you’re not aware, you can click on the photo to get a larger image, at which time you can usually click on the larger photo to get yet a larger image.)

Here you see the banks of the Moselle River in Bernkastel-Kues, Germany, which I visited in October 2010. They have a couple things up on Napa/Sonoma here. It’s intensely beautiful and quaint.

This image is actually a compilation of eight distinct shots that were combined to create this singular image. I stood on the opposite bank of the Moselle River, planted my feet shoulder-width apart, locked my elbows tightly to my chest, turned to my right, and started taking photos, swiveling left a couple of inches in between each shot. When I uploaded the photos to my laptop, I was able to run an algorithm in Adobe PhotoShop (remember, I used to own a graphic design business), merging the images together.

This spring, I’m sending the digital file to a photo lab in California that has a press large enough to print the image, they’ll ship it out to me once it’s done. I’m also commissioning a custom oak frame in the Craftsmen style from an incredible finished carpenter I know. I’ll have to pay for the image to be matted as well as it’s too large for me to do myself. The entire thing should measure roughly 6.5 feet in length and 1.5 feet in height. And it should look incredible hanging on the wall above my bed (it’s a big empty white wall).

In the larger format, the image turned out to be everything I had hoped it would be. And hanging on my wall, I’ll remember a beautiful day in a beautiful town with my beautiful friend, Jackie, and her beautiful daughter, Annabelle. Is it possible for a day to contain that much beauty? You bet your boots it is!

Leave a Reply

